Queen's Birthday Honours

2014 Queen's Birthday Honours

Mr Thomas Baker OAM – GradDipArts (Hons) (1994)

For service to conservation of the environment in the Queanbeyan region.

Professor Desmond Ball AO – PhD (1973)

For distinguished service to international relations as an academic, author and researcher, to Australian Defence policy formulation, and to the security architecture of the Asia-Pacific region.

Professor Timothy Bonyhady AM - LLB (Hons)(1981)

For significant service to education in the field of climate and environmental law, as an academic and researcher, and to the visual arts.

Major General Michael Crane DSC – MA (1995)

For distinguished command and leadership in warlike operations as the Commander of Joint Task Force 633 on Operation SLIPPER from October 2012 to September 2013.

Ms Kerry Flanagan PSM – Bachelor of Arts (1976)

For outstanding public service leading to better health and hospital services, especially through the Commonwealth Medical Internship program and the publication of national data on hospitals.

Dr Gwendolyn Gray AO – PhD (1988)

For distinguished service to the community, particularly through better women's health outcomes, advocacy, and the development of public policy.

Mr Henry Jenkins AO – BSc (1977)

For distinguished service to the Parliament of Australia, particularly as a presiding officer and through a range of outreach and inter-Parliamentary programs.

Dr Stephen Jiggins AM – LittB (Hons) (1982)

For significant service to the community of the Australian Capital Territory, particularly as an advocate for improved road safety.

The Hon Dr Barry Jones AC - HonLittD (2004)

 For significant service to business, particularly the property sector, and to the community of Canberra.

Emeritus Professor Philip Lake AO – BSc (Hons) (1964)

For distinguished service to conservation and the environment as an ecologist and freshwater scientist, and to research and professional organisations Ecologist and Freshwater Scientist, specialising in limnology (the scientific study of inland waters), for over 45 years.

Professor David Lindenmayer AO – PhD (1990)

For distinguished service to conservation and the environment in the field of landscape ecology, to tertiary education, and to professional organisations.

Mr Christos Moraitis PSM – MIntLaw (1995)

For outstanding public service to Australia's international affairs as Australia's High Commissioner to Port Moresby and in senior legal and corporate roles at the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Mr Michael Rothery PSM – Master Nat Security Policy (2013)

For outstanding public service through the delivery of innovative and effective strategies that protect our communities and improve the national capacity to respond to and recover from national security events.

Dr Lesley Wyborn PSM – PhD (1978)

For outstanding public service to geology in Australia, especially highly innovative international leadership in integrated geoscientific data management.

Professor Samina Yasmeen AM – MA (1981)

For significant service to international relations as an academic, adviser and social welfare advocate.


Updated:  September 25, 2018 /Responsible Officer:  Alumni Relations Senior Officer /Page Contact:  Alumni Relations